top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeather Bense

The Eight Phases of EMDR

Updated: Aug 14, 2023

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (or EMDR for short) is a treatment protocol comprised of eight phases:

  1. History and Treatment Planning

  2. Preparation

  3. Assessment

  4. Desensitization

  5. Instillation

  6. Body Scan

  7. Closure

  8. Reevaluation

Breaking up memories and experiences in this way supports our brain's ability to take the thoughts, feelings, and sensations into a cohesive while well supported through the therapeutic relationship and with a variety of grounding practices.

For additional reading, check out the blog post at EMDRIA here .

Grayscale Stairs


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page